Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Tech football players top the La. Sportswriters' ballots for 2012

Louisiana Tech's Cameron, Dixon Honored by Louisiana Sports Writers Association

RUSTON, La. - Colby Cameron and Kenneth Dixon were named the Louisiana Offensive Player and Freshman of the Year, respectively, as the 2012 All-Louisiana teams were announced Tuesday by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA).
In all, Tech had eight players receive first team All-Louisiana honors, more than any other team in the state.
Cameron, a senior from Newbury Park, Calif., was named the WAC Player of the Year in a year in which he set an NCAA record for most consecutive passes attempted without an interception (428).  Cameron led an offense that was ranked NO. 1 in scoring and No. 2 in total offense. He completed 359-of-522 passes for 4,147 yards and 31 touchdowns. He completed 68.8 percent of his passes for an efficiency rating of 153.19 while averaging 345.6 passing yards a game. The Sammy Baugh Award winner and Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist was No. 4 in the nation in total offense.
When Cameron was throwing the ball at Tech, it was going to Freshman of the Year choice Dixon, who hails from Strong, Ark. The true freshman led the nation in scoring with 28 total touchdowns (27 rushing) break’s Marshall Faulk’s NCAA records for most touchdowns scored, most rushing touchdowns scored and most points, all for a freshman. Dixon had 200 rushes for 1,194 yards, just missing averaging 100 yards a game at 99.5. Dixon set the WAC record for most rushing touchdowns at any class level.
Joining Cameron and Dixon on the first team selected by the LSWA members were: offensive linemen Arinze Agada of McNeese, Josh Dworaczyk of LSU, Andre Huval of Louisiana-Lafayette and Oscar Johnson and Stephen Warner, both of Louisiana Tech. The tight end choice was Nick Scelfo of Nicholls with ULM’s Brent Leonard and Tech’sQuinton Patton at wide receiver.  The other running back completing the first team was Ryan Montague of Louisiana College. Tech’s IK Enemkpali received first team honors on the defensive line.

Two national award winners were on the specialists’ first team with Lou Groza winner Cairo Santos of Tulane the place kicker and two-time Ray Guy winner Ryan Allen of Louisiana Tech the punter. D. J. Banks, also of Louisiana Tech, was named the return specialist.
The voting process began after nominations were submitted by the sports information-media relations directors from the football playing schools in the state. Members of the Player of the Week voting committee as well as three media voters were allowed for each team. The nominating SIDs were not allowed under LSWA rules to vote for their own players and each SID had to submit a ballot to have their nominees votes allowed to be counted.  All stats are through the end of the regular season and do not include post-season activities.
For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechPWalsh and @LATechFB on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.

Pos/Name/School/Year/Hometown/Notes, Stats
OL/Arinze Agada/McNeese/Jr./Houston, Texas/All-SLC 1st Team, 11 starts
OL/Josh Dworaczyk/LSU/Sr./New Iberia, La./All-SEC HM, Sixth-year senior
OL/Andre Huval/Louisiana-Lafayette/Jr./Scott, La./All-SBC 2nd Team, 25 straight starts center
OL/Oscar Johnson/Louisiana Tech/Sr./Crystal Springs, Miss./All-WAC 1st Team, 8th nation sacks allowed
OL/Stephen Warner/Louisiana Tech/Sr./Ruston, La./All-WAC 1st Team, 8th nation sacks allowed
TE/Nick Scelfo/Nicholls State/So./Baton Rouge, La./All-SLC 2nd Team, 22 recept., 300 yds, 2 TDs
WR/Brent Leonard/ULM/Sr./Keller, Texas/All-SBC, 1st Team, 97 recept., 1,042 yds, 10 TDs
WR/Quinton Patton/Louisiana Tech/Sr./LaVergne, Tenn./All-WAC, 1st Team, 104 recept., 1,392 yds, 13 TD
RB/Kenneth Dixon/Louisiana Tech/Fr./Strong, Ark./WAC FOY, CBS Frosh A-A, 200 rushes, 1,194 yds, 27 TD
RB/Ryan Montague/Louisiana College/So./New Orleans, La./AASWC 1st Team, 224 rushes, 1,110 yds, 13 TD
QB/Colby Cameron/Louisiana Tech/Sr./Newbury Park, Calif./WAC POY, 359-of-522, 4,147 yds, 31 TD

Pos/Name/School/Year/Hometown/Notes, Stats
DL/IK Enemkpali/Louisiana Tech/Jr./Pflugerville, Texas/All-WAC 1st Team, 32 TT, 6.0 Sacks
DL/Barkevious Mingo/LSU/Jr./West Monroe, La./All-SEC 2nd Team, 33 TT, 4.0 Sacks
DL/Sam Montgomery/LSU/Jr./Greenwood, S.C./2nd Team A-A, All-SEC 1st Team, 32 TT, 7.0 Sacks
DL/Emeka Onyenekwau/Louisiana-Lafayette/Sr./New Orleans, La./All-SBC 1st Team, 37 TT, 6.5 Sacks
LB/Lamin Barrow/LSU/Jr./Marrero, La./92 TT, 5.5 TFL, 1 FR
LB/Kevin Minter/LSU/Jr./Suwanee, Ga./2nd Team A-A, All-SEC 1st Team, 111 TT, 3.0 Sacks
LB/Derek Rose/Northwestern State/Sr./New Orleans, La./All-SLC 1st Team, 103 TT, 1 FR, 3 PBU
DB/Robert Alford/Southeastern La./Sr./Hammond, La./2nd Team A-A, All-SLC 1st Team 39 TT, 4 Int.
DB/Craig Loston/LSU/Jr./Aldine, Texas/All-SEC 2nd Team, 48 TT, 3 Int, 1 TD
DB/Jemarlous Moten/Louisiana-Lafayette/Sr./Leland, Miss./All-SBC 1st Team, 59 TT, 3 Int, 2 FF
DB/Eric Reid/LSU/Jr./Geismar, La./1st Team A-A, All-SEC 1st Team, 81 TT, 2 Int.

Pos/Name/School/Year/Hometown/Notes, Stats
K/Cairo Santos/Tulane/Jr./St. Augustine, Fla./Lou Groza Winner, 21-21 FG, 14 from 40 +
P/Ryan Allen/Louisiana Tech/Sr./Salem, Ore./2011, 2012 Ray Guy Winner, 48.0 aver., 20 of 45 inside 20
RS/D.J. Banks/Louisiana Tech/Jr./West Monroe, La./All-WAC 1st Team, 39 KO, 1,044 yds, 1 TD; 20 P, 120 yds

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Colby Cameron, QB, Louisiana Tech
Voting – Cameron 21; Kolton Browning, ULM 3; Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette, 1
Voting – Minter 21, Derek Rose Northwestern State 2; Robert Alford, Southeastern 1; Eric Reid, LSU 1 (write-in vote)
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Kenneth Dixon, RB, Louisiana Tech
Voting – Dixon 21; Jeremy Hill, LSU 3; Xavier Robinson, Southeastern, 1
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR – Terrance Broadway, QB, Louisiana-Lafayette
Voting – Broadway 23; Billy Johnson, Tulane 2
Voting – Berry 18; Sonny Dykes, Louisiana Tech 5; Les Miles, LSU 2

Second Team Offense
OL – Leonardo Bates, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., New Orleans, La.; La’el Collins, LSU, So., Baton Rouge, La.; P. J. Lonergan, LSU, Sr., New Orleans, La.; Darin Moore, Louisiana College, Sr., Ponchatoula, La. ; Jeremy Vujnovich, Louisiana College, Sr., Belle Chasse, La.
                TE – Jeremy Meyers, Southeastern Louisiana, So., Baton Rouge, La.
                WR – Ryan Grant, Tulane, Jr., Beaumont, Texas; D’Mario Parker, Louisiana College;
                RB – Jeremy Hill, LSU, Fr., Baton Rouge, La.; Marcus Wiltz, McNeese, Jr., Cecilia, La.
                QB – Kolton Browning, ULM, Jr., Mabank, Texas

Second Team Defense
                DL – Everett Ellersen, McNeese, So., Madisonville, La. ; Peter “Phil” Ford, Louisiana College, Sr., New Orleans, La.; Austen Jacks, Tulane, Sr., Winter Park, Fla.; Bennie Logan, LSU, Jr., Coushatta, La.
                LB – Justin Anderson, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., Foley, Ala.; Jordan Piper, Nicholls, Sr., New Orleans, La.; Devan Walker, Southeastern, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.
                DB – Terence Cahee, McNeese, Jr., Westlake, La.; Isaiah Newsome, ULM, Jr., Petal, Miss.; Tharold Simon, LSU, Jr., Eunice La.; Jamaal White, Northwestern State, Sr., Garland, Texas.

Second Team Specialists
                K – Brett Baer, Louisiana-Lafayette – Sr., Brandon, Miss.
P -- Brad Wing, LSU, So., Melbourne, Australia
RS – Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU, Jr., So., New Orleans, La.
Honorable Mention
                Offense – OL -- Josh Allen, ULM, Jr; Billy Johnson, Tulane, Gr.
                Defense – DL – Christian Ringo, Louisiana-Lafayette, So. LB – Joe Narcisse, McNeese, Sr.

No comments:

Post a Comment